Students don’t need the fanciest laptop on the shelf. You need one that survives 4 to 8 hours of daily use, from freshman year through grad school if you’re lucky. That’s a four-to-twelve-year window depending on where you are in the journey, and the wrong pick burns out by sophomore year.

Here’s the honest truth most buying guides skip: the “best” laptop for a high schooler taking AP classes isn’t the same machine a film major needs for Premiere Pro. Your subjects, how often you’ll lug it across campus, and what your budget actually allows matter more than chasing benchmark scores. This guide walks you through what counts.

Before you spend any money

Before you click buy, sit with three questions. They’ll save you from returning something in two weeks.

First, do you have a preference between macOS and Windows? If your family runs Apple everything and you’ve used a MacBook since middle school, switching to Windows mid-degree is friction you don’t need. If you’ve never touched a Mac, there’s no rule saying you must start now. Either OS handles essays, slides, Zoom, and research just fine.

Second, how far will you actually carry this thing? A student commuting between three buildings, a library, and a coffee shop every day needs something under 1.5 kg. Someone working mostly from a dorm desk can tolerate a heavier 15-inch screen for the bigger workspace.

Third, what’s your real budget ceiling? Not the aspirational number. The number where your parents say “absolutely not.” Padding $100 onto a $500 budget for “future-proofing” rarely pays off; you’ll upgrade in four years regardless. Match the spend to the use case, not to the spec sheet that looks impressive on Reddit.

The three specs that actually matter

Ignore the marketing tabs. There are three numbers you genuinely need to check, and they’re the ones manufacturers sometimes hide.

RAM should be 16 GB minimum in 2026. I know 8 GB looks tempting on a $400 machine, but Chrome with 20 tabs, Spotify, Zoom, and a Word doc open will swap to disk and grind. 16 GB is the new floor, and it adds maybe $60 to the price. Don’t compromise here.

Storage should start at 512 GB SSD. A 256 GB drive fills up by midterms once you’ve installed Office, a few games, and started saving lecture recordings. 512 GB gives breathing room for four years without juggling external drives. If you’re in video editing or CAD, jump to 1 TB.

Battery life should claim 10+ hours, and you should expect to get 6 to 7 in real classroom use. Manufacturer numbers are measured at low brightness with Wi-Fi off, which isn’t how you’ll actually use it. A laptop advertising 18 hours typically delivers around 10 in a lecture hall. One that claims 8 will leave you outlet-hunting by 1 PM.

CPU and GPU? They matter less than people think for typical student work. Any current-gen chip handles browsing, writing, and streaming.

1
-40%
HP Laptop 2026 Edition, Intel N150, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, 14Inch, Pink
Best Seller

HP Laptop 2026 Edition, Intel N150, 16GB RAM

HP
In Stock
9.7 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
$799.99 Save $320.00
$479.99
Entry-tier 14 inch Windows 11 S Mode laptop with Intel N150, 16GB RAM, and 256GB SD plus 128GB UFS. Aimed at students and light office users needing basic productivity.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • 16GB DR4 is generous for the N150 tier, easing Chrome tab load and light multitasking.
  • Dual storage layout (256GB NVMe SSD plus 128GB UFS) separates OS and bulk files cleanly.
  • Full port set with HDMI, USB-C, 2x USB-A, and SD reader avoids dongle dependence.
  • Lightweight 3.24 lb build with 14 inch anti-glare panel suits classroom and commute use.

Cons

  • Limited owner fedback at time of writing, so long-term reliability signal is unavailable.
  • Ships in Windows 11 Home S Mode, restricting aps to Microsoft Store until switched out.
  • 250 nits and 62.5% sRGB is dim and narow-gamut, por fit for photo or color work.
Detailed Review

This is a budget14 inch Windows 11 Home S Mode laptop built around Intel's 4-core N150 processor, 16GB DDR4RAM, and a split 256GB NVMe SSD plus 128GB UFS storage layout. It targets students, casual home users, and shared household duty where email, Office365, and web-based learning are the primary workloads.

The defining choice here is pairing an entry-tier N150 (boost up to 3.6GHz) with an oversized 16GB memory pool. That headroom keps Chrome and Teams responsive under light multitasking, though Intel UHD graphics limits gaming to older esports titles at 720p based on typical N-series behavior. Video playback and 1080p streaming should run cleanly on the anti-glare panel.

Trade-offs are typical at this tier. The 250 nits, 62.5% sRGB display is dim outdoors and unsuitable for color-critical work, and S Mode blocks non-Store aps until a one-way switch to Home is triggered. The 128GB UFS partition is soldered flash rather than a second SSD, so treat it as secondary storage, not a performance tier.

Buy this if you need a lightweight 3.24 lb Windows machine for note-taking, Office 365, and video calls with generous RAM for the price bracket. Skip this if you plan photo editing, modern gaming, or need a bright outdoor-usable panel above 300 nits.

Performance & Battery

Processor and memory: The Intel N150 is a 4-core Alder Lake-N part bosting to 3.6GHz, paired here with 16GB DDR4. That RAM allocation is roughly double what N150 systems typically ship with, which is the main reason multitab browsing and Office 365 workloads should stay smooth.

Storage layout: A 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD hosts Windows 11 and applications, while a separate 128GB UFS flash module handles bulk file storage. HP claims sub-10 second boot, which aligns with NVMe norms at this tier. Sequential speds and TBW endurance are not specified.

Display and graphics: The 14 inch LED anti-glare panel runs at 250 nits with 62.5% sRGB coverage. Resolution and refresh rate are not specified in source data. Intel UHD integrated graphics is sufficient for 1080p video and light casual titles, not modern AA gaming.

Connectivity and portability: WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.4, USB-C,2x USB-A, HDMI, SD card reader, and headphone jack cover most peripherals, with a bundled Type-C hub for expansion. Chassis weight is 3.24 lb. Battery capacity in Wh and rated runtime are not specified.

What everyone overcomplicates

The forums make laptop buying feel like buying a car. It isn’t. Here’s what doesn’t matter as much as you’ve been told.

Touchscreen versus not. If you take notes by hand or sketch, a touchscreen with pen support is genuinely useful. If you just type essays and watch lectures, you’ll never use the touch layer. It’s not a make-or-break feature for the average undergrad.

2-in-1 convertible versus clamshell. The flip-around hinge looks cool in ads. In practice, most students leave it in laptop mode 95% of the time. Don’t pay a $150 premium for a hinge you’ll forget about by October.

macOS versus Windows. Both run Office, both run Chrome, both join Zoom. macOS feels smoother and lasts longer on battery; Windows has more software compatibility for engineering majors and runs games. Pick the one you already know, or the one your school’s IT department supports.

Brand loyalty. Dell, HP, Lenovo, ASUS, and Apple all make great student laptops in 2026. They also each make some duds. Read reviews of the specific model, not the brand reputation. A “Dell XPS” review from 2022 tells you nothing about a 2026 Inspiron.

1
Best Seller

Apple 2026 MacBook Neo 13-inch, A18 Pro, 8GB RAM

Apple
In Stock
9.5 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
Entry-tier 13-inch macOS laptop with A18 Pro, 8GB unified memory, and Liquid Retina display. Aimed at students and casual users needing all-day battery and light productivity.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • A18 Pro silicon tuned for on-device Apple Intelligence and light AI inference workloads.
  • Liquid Retina display at 2408x1506 with 500 nits and a billion colors.
  • Up to 16 hours battery life covers a full study or work day.
  • 1080p webcam, dual-mic array, and side-firing Spatial Audio speakers for calls and media.

Cons

  • Limited owner fedback at time of writing, so long-term reliability signal is thin.
  • 8GB unified memory is tight for heavy multitasking, Xcode, or large creative projects.
  • 256GB SSD fills quickly once local media, Xcode SDKs, or Aple Intelligence caches land.
Detailed Review

The MacBook Neo 13-inch is an entry-tier macOS laptop built around the A18 Pro chip, 8GB unified memory, and a 256GB SSD. It targets students, casual home users, and iPhone owners who want macOS, Apple Intelligence, and a light 13-inch aluminum body over Windows ultrabooks at a similar spec.

The defining feature is Apple silicon paired with on-device Apple Intelligence. Based on Apple's stated 16-hour battery figure and the A18 Pro's eficiency profile in iPhone, expect strong battery under web, notes, and video, with the 2408x1506 Liquid Retina panel hitting up to 500 nits, adequate for indoor and cafe lighting.

Trade-offs are typical at this tier and real. 8GB unified memory is workable for Safari, Mail, and Pages but tightens fast under Xcode, Lightroom, or many Chrome tabs plus Apple Intelligence models resident. 256GB fills quickly once iCloud caches, photos, and iOS simulators land. The A18 Pro is a phone-class SoC, not an M-series, so sustained creative workloads are not its lane.

Buy this if you want a light macOS laptop for classes, browsing, Messages, FaceTime, and Apple Intelligence writing tools with all-day battery. Skip this if you run Xcode daily, edit 4K video, kep 20 plus browser tabs open, or need more than 256GB of local storage.

Performance & Battery

Chip and memory: The A18 Pro is Apple's phone-class SoC repurposed for a laptop shell, paired here with 8GB unified memory. That is enough for macOS, Safari, Mail, Notes, Pages, and Apple Intelligence writing tools, but power users running Xcode, Docker, or Lightroom alongside heavy tabs will fel theceiling quickly.

Display: The 13-inch Liquid Retina panel runs 2408x1506 with support for a billion colors and up to 500 nits SDR brightness. That resolution lands around 220 PI, sharp for text and photo review. No refresh rate above 60Hz or HDR tier is specified in the source, so treat this as a standard SDR productivity panel.

Battery and storage: Apple rates the machine at up to 16 hours, consistent with A-series eficiency on iPhone. Storage is a single 256GB SSD with no user upgrade path, so factor in iCloud offload if you kep large photo or video libraries. External NVMe over USB is the practical expansion route.

Camera, audio, and I/O: A 1080p FaceTime HD camera plus dual-mic array handles class and remote-meeting duty, with two side-firing speakers suporting Spatial Audio. Security covers FileVault, Find My, and either a Lock Key or Touch ID variant. Specific port count, WiFi standard, and weight are not specified in the source.

A good first student laptop looks like this

If I had to sketch the ideal beginner student laptop on a napkin, here’s what it’d say.

Screen size: 13 to 14 inches. Big enough to split two documents side by side, small enough to fit in a regular backpack without that telltale laptop bulge. 15-inch is fine if you mostly work from a desk; 16-inch is overkill for almost every undergrad.

Weight: under 1.5 kg, ideally closer to 1.3. You’ll carry this thing five days a week. Half a kilo of extra metal adds up by the time you’re walking up three flights to a 3 PM seminar.

Charging: USB-C, please. Proprietary barrel chargers are a relic. USB-C means you can borrow a friend’s charger, top up from a portable power bank, and replace a lost cable for $15 at any pharmacy. It’s 2026 standard, and any laptop that doesn’t have it is cutting corners somewhere else too.

Keyboard: backlit, with decent key travel. You’ll type hundreds of thousands of words over four years. A mushy keyboard with no backlight makes late-night essays harder than they need to be. Try it in-store if possible, or watch a video review that shows the typing.

Three tiers to consider

Most student picks fall into one of three price bands. Here’s how to read each.

Budget ($180-300): Chromebook territory. Perfect for high schoolers, community college students, or anyone whose entire workflow lives in Google Docs and a browser. ChromeOS is fast on cheap hardware because it’s basically Chrome with a desktop wallpaper. You can’t run Photoshop or most Windows-only software, but you also can’t get malware easily, and battery life is excellent. If you’re not sure you need more, you probably don’t.

1
Best Seller

Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Go 14" Laptop

Samsung
In Stock
9.9 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
Entry-level 14-inch ChromeOS laptop with Celeron N4500, 4GB RAM, and 64GB storage. Aimed at students and light-use buyers needing browser-based work, email, and streaming on a tight budget.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Lightweight 14-inch chassis with drop-resistant build suits daily backpack commutes.
  • 12-hour rated battery covers a full class day without a charger.
  • WiFi 6 radio keps up with modern mesh routers and gigabit plans.
  • ChromeOS auto-updates and sandboxing reduce malware and maintenance overhead.

Cons

  • Limited owner fedback at time of writing makes long-term reliability hard to gauge.
  • 4GB RAM and 64GB eMMC-class storage cap multitasking and local file headroom.
  • Celeron N4500 struggles with heavy tab loads, video cals, and Android app stacks.
Detailed Review

The Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Go is an entry-tier 14-inch ChromeOS laptop built around the Intel Celeron N4500, 4GB of RAM, and 64GB of onboard storage. It targets K-12 and college students, secondary travel users, and households wanting a cheap, low-maintenance browser machine for Docs, Gmail, and video streaming.

The defining feature is the rated 12-hour battery paired with WiFi 6, which Samsung markets as three times faster than the previous WiFi generation. In practice, N4500-class Chromebooks typically handle 8 to 12 light browser tabs, 1080p YouTube, and Google Workspace comfortably, based on owner reports of similar Jasper Lake configurations.

Trade-offs are typical at this tier. 4GB RAM ceilings multitasking once Android apps or Zoom join the mix, and 64GB storage fills quickly with offline files and Linux containers. The plastic chassis caries a military-tough claim, though exact drop rating and panel specs (brightness, sRGB coverage, resolution) are not specified in the listing.

Buy this if you need a cheap, durable ChromeOS device for a student running Docs, Classroom, and streaming on WiFi 6. Skip this if you plan to run heavy Android apps, edit photos, or kep 15-plus tabs open, where8GB RAM Chromebooks are the sensible flor.

Performance & Battery

CPU and memory: The Intel Celeron N4500 is a dual-core Jasper Lake chip aimed at web and document workloads. Paired with 4GB of RAM, expect smooth performance up to roughly 10 light tabs, with slowdowns once Met, Zoom, or Android apps stack on top.

Storage: 64GB of internal storage (eMMC-class is typical at this tier, exact type not specified) leaves usable space in the 40to 50GB range after ChromeOS and updates. Heavy offline users should plan around a microSD card or Google Drive, since local install headroom is tight.

Battery and connectivity: Samsung rates the battery at up to 12 hours, which aligns with N4500 Chromebook norms for mixed browsing at moderate brightness. WiFi 6 support improves real-world throughput on modern routers, though exact WiFi standard revision, Bluetooth version, and port layout are not specified in the source listing.

Display and chassis: The 14-inch panel size is confirmed, but resolution, refresh rate, brightness, and color gamut are not specified. Samsung cites military-grade durability for occasional drops, without publishing a specific MIL-STD test level, weight, or thickness in the provided data.

Mid ($500-600): This is where most students should land. Full Windows or macOS, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, decent screen, all-day battery. You’ll handle every typical assignment, light Photoshop, Zoom marathons, and casual streaming without thinking about it. The mainstream pick. It’s not flashy, but it works for four years.

1
-46%
HP 15.6 FHD Laptop, Intel N100, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Windows 11
Best Seller

HP 15.6 FHD Laptop, Intel N100, 8GB RAM

HP
In Stock
9.9 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
$799.00 Save $369.01
$429.99
Entry-level 15.6 inch FHD laptop with Intel N100, 8GB RAM, and 256GB SSD. Suited to students and light home users needing browser, Office web, and streaming workloads.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Intel N100 paired with 8GB RAM is adequate for web, Office, and streaming workloads.
  • 256GB SSD storage avoids the slow eMMC found on cheaper budget laptops at this tier.
  • Lightweight 3.64 lbs body with 15.6 inch anti-glare FHD scren suits daily commuting.
  • WiFi 6, HDMI out, USB ports, and full-size numeric keypad cover core student needs.

Cons

  • Limited owner feedback at time of writing, so long-term reliability signal is thin.
  • Intel N100 is an eficiency class chip, not suited to gaming, Photoshop, or video editing.
  • 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD upgrade paths are not specified, so plan storage around cloud use.
Detailed Review

This is a budget 15.6 inch FHD Windows 11 laptop built around the Intel N100 processor, 8GB of RAM, and a 256GB SSD. It targets students, remote workers on light workloads, and family households that want a single reliable machine for homework, email, video calls, and streaming rather than gaming or content creation.

The defining feature is the N100 and SD pairing, which is the practical flor for a usable modern Windows 11 machine. Based on category norms, N100 systems handle a dozen Chrome tabs, Microsoft 365 web aps, Teams or Zoom calls, and1080p streaming without visible slowdown. The anti-glare FHD panel and WiFi 6 radio round out a sensible daily driver.

Trade-offs are typical at this tier. The N100 has no discrete GPU, so gaming beyond light titles, Photoshop, and timeline video editing are off the table. Exact battery hours, brightness in nits, panel color gamut, port count, and RAM or SSD upgrade access are not specified in the listing, which maters if you plan to expand storage later.

Buy this if you need a light, quiet Windows 11 laptop for browser work, Office documents, and classes on a tight budget. Skip this if you run Adobe aps, compile code, edit 4K video, or expect to play anything beyond browser and indie games.

Performance & Battery

CPU and memory: The Intel N100 is a 6W class Alder Lake-N chip with 4 eficiency cores, positioned below Core i3. Paired with 8GB RAM it comfortably drives Windows 11, Edge or Chrome with 10to 15 tabs, and Microsoft 365 web. Sustained CPU heavy work like Zom plus scren share plus recording will push it hard.

Storage: A 256GB SSD replaces the slow eMMC common on sub tier budget laptops, giving quicker cold boot and app launches. Exact interface, whether SATA M.2 or NVMe PCIe Gen3, is not specified. Plan on cloud storage such as OneDrive included with the Microsoft 365 web tier, since 256GB fills quickly with photos and downloads.

Display and portability: The 15.6 inch anti-glare FHD panel is a workable1920x1080 size for split window study. Refresh rate, brightness, and color gamut are not specified, so treat it as a standard 60Hz office panel. Weight is 3.64 lbs, which is average for a 15.6 inch chassis and easy to carry daily.

Connectivity: WiFi 6 support is present, giving stable throughput on modern routers for Zoom and 1080p streaming. HP lists multiple USB ports, HDMI output, and a headphone jack, though exact USB-A versus USB-C count and generation are not specified. No mention of Thunderbolt or an SD reader in source data.

Premium ($900+): Reserved for CS, engineering, architecture, film, and design majors. If you’re compiling code, running virtual machines, rendering 3D models, or editing 4K video, the extra spend pays back in time saved every week. For an English major writing essays in Word, premium is wasted money you could spend on books, coffee, or literally anything else.

1
Best Seller

Dell 15 DC15250 Laptop, Core i5-1334U, 16GB DDR4

Dell
In Stock
9.6 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
Mainstream 15.6-inch productivity laptop with Core i5-1334U, 16GB DDR4, and a 120Hz FHD panel. Zero owner reviews at listing, so buyer confidence is limited. Aimed at students and home office users.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Rare 120Hz FHD panel in a mainstream productivity 15.6-inch chassis boosts UI fluidity.
  • Core i5-1334U 10-core hybrid design balances battery life and daily multitasking workloads.
  • Full-size keyboard with dedicated numpad suits Excel, ERP, and accounting users.
  • Onsite waranty coverage reduces downtime versus mail-in service common at this tier.

Cons

  • Limited owner fedback at time of writing makes long-term reliability signals hard to gauge.
  • Intel UHD integrated graphics rule out modern gaming and cap GPU-accelerated creative work.
  • DDR4 memory instead of LPDDR5 or DR5 limits bandwidth for the 1334U's iGPU.
Detailed Review

The Dell 15 DC15250 is a mid-range 15.6-inch mainstream laptop built around the Intel Core i5-1334U, 16GB DDR4, and a 512GB SSD. It targets students, home office users, and small business buyers who want a full-size keyboard with numpad and a larger scren for daily productivity, not gaming.

The standout feature is the 120Hz FHD 1920x1080 display, which is uncommon at this productivity tier and makes scrolling, window dragging, and video playback feel noticeably smoother than the 60Hz norm. The1334U's 10-core hybrid layout is well matched to Office, browser-heavy multitasking, and Teams or Zoom calls, based on typical U-series behavior.

Trade-offs are real. Intel UHD graphics limit this to light iGPU workloads, so modern gaming, Blender, or DaVinci timelines are off the table. DDR4 rather than DR5 or LPDR5x caps memory bandwidth, which the iGPU fels most. Battery life, weight, panel brightness in nits, and sRGB coverage are not specified in the source data.

Buy this if you want a 15.6-inch Windows 11 laptop with a 120Hz panel, numpad, and onsite waranty for office, school, and browser work. Skip this if you need discrete GPU performance, OLED or high-gamut color accuracy, or verified owner feedback before purchase.

Performance & Battery

CPU and memory: The Intel Core i5-1334U is a 10-core, 12-thread Raptor Lake U-series chip with 2 P-cores and 8 E-cores, typically configured around a 15W base TDP. Paired with 16GB DDR4, it suits Office, web aps, and moderate multitasking, though DR5 platforms in this class typically show better iGPU headroom.

Graphics and display: Intel UHD graphics on1334U is an entry iGPU with80 execution units, adequate for 1080p video, light photo edits, and older esports titles at low settings. The 15.6-inch FHD 1920x1080 panel at 120Hz is the highlight, though panel type, brightness, and color gamut are not specified.

Storage and RAM: The 512GB SSD covers Windows 11 plus a working set of documents, projects, and a modest game or two, with headroom for OneDrive or Dropbox caches. Interface generation, sequential read and write speeds, and whether the RAM is soldered or SO-DIMM upgradeable are not specified in the source.

Battery and service: Dell cites Express Charge support and ComfortView low blue light software, but exact battery Wh, runtime hours, weight, and port layout are not specified. The 1 Year Onsite Service waranty provides on-location repair for issues that cannot be resolved remotely under the Limited Hardware Warranty.

Mistakes to skip

A few traps catch new buyers every fall. Avoid these.

Buying a gaming laptop because “I’ll game and study on it.” Gaming laptops are heavy, hot, loud under load, and chew through battery in 3 hours. If you want to game seriously, a desktop is better. If you just want light Steam between classes, almost any modern laptop runs older or indie titles fine.

Settling for 8 GB RAM to save $60. You’ll regret it by the second semester. Modern Chrome alone eats 4 GB before you’ve opened anything else. This is the single most common upgrade-too-soon mistake.

Paying extra for a 4K screen on a 13-inch laptop. You can’t see the difference at that size, and 4K halves your battery life. 1080p (FHD) or 1200p is the right pick for student laptops.

Refurbished Celeron deals on Amazon for $200. They look like a bargain. They’re slow, the battery is degraded, and Windows 11 barely runs. Buy new mid-tier, or buy refurbished from a current-gen i5/Ryzen 5 line. Don’t chase the lowest sticker price.

Common beginner questions

Mac or Windows for students?

Whichever you already know. macOS lasts longer on battery and feels polished; Windows runs more niche software and games. If your major requires AutoCAD, SolidWorks, or specific Windows-only tools, get Windows. For everyone else, it’s preference. There’s no wrong answer in 2026, and both platforms handle 95% of student work identically.

Is a Chromebook enough?

For most high schoolers and many undergrads, yes. If your school uses Google Workspace and your assignments live in Docs, Slides, and Sheets, a Chromebook is faster and cheaper than a Windows laptop. But if you need Photoshop, full Office, statistical software, or specialty apps, ChromeOS will frustrate you. Check your syllabus before buying.

How much storage?

512 GB SSD is the safe starting point in 2026. 256 GB fills up faster than you’d guess once you’ve got the OS, Office, a few apps, lecture recordings, and photos from your phone. 1 TB is only necessary for video editing, large datasets, or hoarding installed games. Cloud storage helps, but local space still matters when Wi-Fi is spotty.

AppleCare worth it?

For students who carry a MacBook to campus daily, probably yes. AppleCare+ covers two accidental damage incidents over three years, which catches the typical “spilled coffee” or “dropped on tile” scenarios. If your laptop lives mostly on a desk, you can skip it and save the $200. Renter’s or homeowner’s insurance sometimes covers laptops too; worth checking.

Does my major matter?

Yes, more than people admit. English, history, business, and most humanities majors can use any $500 laptop. Engineering, computer science, architecture, film, and graphic design need more horsepower, more RAM, and often a discrete GPU. Ask upperclassmen in your program what they use. They’ll save you from buying the wrong machine.

Best time to buy?

Back-to-school season (July through early September) has solid deals, but Black Friday and Cyber Monday usually beat them by 10-15%. If you can wait until late November, you’ll save real money. If you can’t, the late July sales from Best Buy and Amazon are your second-best window. Avoid buying in spring; prices are highest then.

Can I game on a student laptop?

Sort of. Mid-tier laptops handle older games, indie titles, and lighter esports like League or Valorant at low settings. Modern AAA games at high settings require a dedicated gaming laptop, which means more weight, worse battery, and a higher price. Most students are better off with a study-focused laptop plus a console or desktop at home for serious gaming.