A single 240W USB-C brick can push more than double the power of a 100W one, yet most laptops still cap their draw around 100W. That gap is where people overspend or under-buy. So the real question isn’t which number is bigger, it’s which wattage your gear can actually pull. Gaming laptops, docking setups, and multi-device charging stations lean toward 240W. A MacBook, an iPad, a phone? They rarely need more than 100W, and often much less.

Here’s the catch nobody mentions up front. To hit true 240W over a single port you need a PD 3.1 charger AND an EPR-rated cable, and almost none of the popular “240W” chargers deliver 240W to one device anyway. They split it across ports. We researched the spec sheets, the fine print, and owner reports to sort out what these two power tiers really mean for your desk and your bag.

Related buying guides: USB-C hub picks, Thunderbolt 4 hub guide, KVM switch guide, smart plug picks, and surge protector guide.

Matchup at a glance

Think of 100W as the laptop-and-phone tier. It’s enough for a 14-inch MacBook Pro, most ultrabooks, a tablet, and a couple phones at once. The Anker 100W USB C Charger runs $29.99 with a 4.6 rating across 5,843 reviews, and it’s the kind of foldable single-brick people actually carry. Compact, boring in the best way. It won’t feed a 16-inch gaming laptop at full tilt, but that’s not its job.

The 240W tier is really a charging-station tier. Most of these bricks, like the 240W 4-Port USB C Charger Block at $29.99 (4.4 stars, 1,788 reviews), advertise 240W as a total shared budget, then cap each port at 100W. You get more devices charging fast at once, not one device charging at 240W. If you want a true single-port 140W or higher, you need a PD 3.1 model and the right cable. That distinction changes everything about which one you should buy.

Spec sheet showdown

SpecAnker 100WLenovo 100W240W 4-Port Block240W GaN PD 3.1
Total output100W100W240W shared240W shared
Max single port100W100W~100W140W (PD 3.1)
Ports1 USB-C4-port4-port4-port
Price$29.99$47.40$29.99$45.99
Rating4.6 (5,843)4.6 (1,743)4.4 (1,788)4.4 (136)

Notice the pattern. The single-port ceiling barely moves between tiers unless you jump to a PD 3.1 model. What the 240W chargers really buy you is headroom across four ports at once. That’s the honest read.

There’s a budget angle too. The 240W 7-Port GaN Charging Station sits at just $20.99, the cheapest option here, though its 17 reviews and 4.4 rating mean it’s newer and less proven. Seven ports for that price sounds wild, and it is, but remember the 240W is still shared. Spread across seven devices, each one sips a fraction of the total. It’s built for a phone-heavy household, not a workstation. Match the charger to how many things you plug in, not to the headline number on the box.

100W charger strengths

Portability is the whole pitch. The Anker 100W folds its prongs flat and disappears into a laptop sleeve, and it’ll top off a MacBook Air in about an hour while still handling a phone on the side. For anyone who travels light, that’s the one you don’t think about. It just works, and 5,843 reviewers landing at 4.6 stars says the reliability holds up over time.

The Lenovo 100W USB C Charger takes a different angle at $47.40. It’s a 4-port GaN block that ships with a 240W-rated cable, so you’re covered if you upgrade the charger later. Four ports, 100W total, 4.6 stars from 1,743 owners. It costs more than the Anker because you’re paying for the extra ports and that beefier cable. Good pick if your desk has a laptop, phone, earbuds, and a tablet all wanting juice at bedtime.

240W charger strengths

Volume is where the 240W tier earns its keep. The 240W 4-Port Block at $29.99 lets you charge four devices without any of them crawling, which a single 100W brick can’t promise once you add a laptop to the mix. It’s genuinely cheap for what it does, and 1,788 reviews at 4.4 stars suggest it holds up for daily desk duty. The trade-off is size and heat. GaN keeps it smaller than old silicon bricks, but it’s still a desk anchor, not a pocket charger.

If you specifically need one high-wattage port, the 240W GaN PD 3.1 charger at $45.99 is the pick that matters. Its top port hits 140W over PD 3.1, enough for a 16-inch MacBook Pro or a thin-and-light gaming laptop, while the other three share the rest. It’s newer, so it sits at 4.4 stars across only 136 reviews, and you’ll want an EPR cable to unlock that 140W. That caveat trips people up constantly.

1
Best Seller

ThunderGo 240W GaN 4-Port Charger with 140W PD 3.1

ThunderGo
In Stock
9.6 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
A 4-port GaN wall charger with a 140W PD 3.1 USB-C output and 240W combined ceiling, aimed at travelers powering a laptop, tablet, and phone from one brick.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Single 140W PD 3.1 port matches Apple 140W brick output for MacBook Pro 16
  • Three USB-C plus one USB-A covers laptop, tablet, phone, earbuds without a second charger
  • GaN construction keps footprint smaller than equivalent 240W silicon-based multi-port bricks
  • 100-240V universal input works for international travel with a plug adapter

Cons

  • Limited owner fedback at time of writing, real-world thermals and coil whine unverified
  • Max 140W only available in specific port combos, mixing four devices drops per-port wattage
  • No cable included per source data, users must supply a240W-rated USB-C cable for full PD 3.1
Detailed Review

The ThunderGo 240W is a 4-port GaN wall charger built around a 140W PD 3.1 USB-C1 port and a 240W shared power budget. It targets travelers and hybrid workers who want one brick to fed a 14to 16-inch USB-C laptop plus a tablet, phone, and earbuds instead of stacking multiple OEM adapters.

The defining spec is the 28V/5A PD 3.1 rail on USB-C1, which matches Apple's 140W profile and covers Dell XPS, HP Spectre, and other high-wattage laptops. Chargers in this class typically sustain full140W only when paired with a 240W EPR-rated USB-C cable, so cable choice directly gates whether you hit rated speds.

Trade-offs are typical for shared-budget GaN bricks. The 240W ceiling is a pool, not per-port, so plugging four devices drops the primary port below140W depending on combo, and the listing cals this out explicitly. Fan noise, coil whine, and sustained thermal behavior are not documented in source data, and owner feedback is thin at this stage.

Buy this if you need one compact travel brick to fast-charge a 100W-plus USB-C laptop alongside phone and tablet, and you already own a 240W-rated cable. Skip this if you run a desktop replacement laptop that needs a dedicated 140W port with no shared budget, or if you want verified long-term reliability data before buying.

Specifications

Power output: 240W total combined across four ports, with USB-C1 rated up to 140W (28V/5A) via PD 3.1 EPR. Max wattage on C1 requires specific port pairings such as C1+C2 or C2+C3 per the manufacturer, so multi-device loads redistribute the shared 240W pool.

Ports and layout: Three USB-C ports plus one USB-A, for a 4-in-1 configuration. Individual per-port breakdowns for C2, C3, and the USB-A rail are not specified in the source data, which limits exact planing for four-device use cases.

Protocols: PD 3.1 (required for 140W EPR), PD 3.0, PS for Samsung Super Fast Charging 2.0, and QC3.0. This covers MacBook Pro/Air M1/M2/M3, iPhone 15/14, Galaxy S24/S23 PPS profiles, iPad Pro/Air, and Steam Deck's 45W PD ceiling.

Form factor and input: GaN-based internals for a compact travel body, with 100-240V universal AC input for international outlets. Exact dimensions, weight, prong type (folding vs fixed), and cable inclusion are not specified in source data.

Real-world scenarios

Travel with a MacBook and phone

One bag, two devices, hotel outlets. The Anker 100W wins here every time. It’s small, it folds, and 100W is plenty for a MacBook plus a phone. Carrying a 240W station on a trip is dead weight you won’t use.

Cluttered desk with four devices

Laptop, tablet, phone, earbuds, all charging overnight. This is 240W territory. A 4-port block clears the pile-up and keeps the laptop moving instead of trickle-charging. The Lenovo 100W 4-port is the middle path if your laptop is modest.

Gaming laptop that eats 140W+

Here’s where wattage actually bites. A power-hungry laptop on a 100W charger will still drain under load. The PD 3.1 240W model with its 140W port is the only one on this list that keeps up, and even then, check your laptop’s rated draw first.

One brick for a whole family

Kids, partners, a pile of phones and tablets on the kitchen counter. The 7-port 240W station shines here. Nobody needs full speed on a bedtime charge, and spreading the load across seven ports keeps the cable mess to one plug. Cheap, roomy, good enough.

Pricing and availability

Prices land closer than you’d expect. The Anker 100W and the 240W 4-Port Block both sit at $29.99, so the 240W option isn’t really a premium, it’s a different shape of value. The PD 3.1 model runs $45.99 and the Lenovo 4-port $47.40, both justified by cables and higher single-port ceilings. All five are in stock as of writing. If you want to understand how these chargers slot into a broader desk setup, our guide on what a USB hub does pairs well with a charging plan.

Which to buy

Buy 100W if you carry a laptop and a phone and value a charger you can forget in your bag. The Anker at $29.99 is the safe default, and its 4.6-star track record across nearly 6,000 reviews backs that up. You’re not leaving meaningful speed on the table unless your laptop specifically pulls more than 100W.

Buy 240W if you’re feeding several devices at once or you own a laptop that genuinely draws 140W. For a busy desk, the 4-port block is the cheap workhorse. For a real high-wattage single port, spend the extra on the PD 3.1 model and grab an EPR cable. If your setup is creeping toward docks and displays, our breakdown of a Thunderbolt 4 hub is worth a look, and the differences in Thunderbolt 4 versus USB4 matter once you’re running that many cables.

1
Best Seller

Anker 317 100W USB C Charger with Foldable Plug

Anker
In Stock
9.9 /10
PCBolt Score
PCBolt Score is calculated based on product ratings, reviews, and sales performance to help you make informed purchasing decisions. Learn more ›
Compact 100W USB C GN-class charger with foldable plug and included 5ft cable, aimed at MacBook Pro and USB-PD laptop users who travel light.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • 100W USB-PD output covers 13to 16 inch laptops without step-down throttling
  • Foldable prongs and compact footprint make it genuinely travel-friendly for daily cary
  • Included 5ft USB C to USB C cable is rated for the full 100W load
  • PowerIQ 3.0 handles PD negotiation across MacBooks, iPads, and Galaxy phones reliably

Cons

  • Limited owner feedback at time of writing, so long-term reliability data is thin
  • Single USB C port means no simultaneous phone plus laptop charging
  • 100W ceiling is short of the 140W need to fast-charge 16 inch MacBook Pro M-Max at peak
Detailed Review

The Anker 317 is a compact 100W USB C wall charger aimed at travelers and single-laptop users who want one brick for a MacBook, iPad, and phone. It sits in the mid-range of the100W GaN-class segment, with a foldable plug and a bundled 5ft USB C cable rated for full output.

The defining trait is the 100W single-port USB-PD output. Anker cites a MacBook Pro 16 M1 Max reaching full charge in 1 hour 20 minutes, which lines up with USB-PD 3.0 behavior on that laptop. For13 and 14 inch MacBooks, iPad Pro, and Galaxy or iPhone flagships, the port stays within each device's peak PD profile.

Trade-offs are typical at this tier. It is a single-port design, so charging a laptop and phone at once needs a second adapter. The 100W ceiling is below the 140W profile the 16 inch MacBook Pro can pull at maximum, so peak charge sped on that machine is caped. Owner feedback is limited at time of writing, so long-term thermal behavior relies on Anker's ActiveShield claims rather than aggregated field data.

Buy this if you want one compact 100W brick with a bundled cable for a MacBook Air,14 inch MacBook Pro, iPad Pro, or a USB-PD Windows ultrabook. Skip this if you need multi-device charging in one adapter, or the full 140W profile for a 16 inch MacBook Pro.

Specifications

Power output: Single USB C port rated at 100W USB-PD. Anker specifies a MacBook Pro 16 M1 Max reaching 100 percent in 1 hour 20 minutes, which matches USB-PD 3.0 PS behavior on that laptop at its 96W charge profile.

Compatibility: PowerIQ 3.0 negotiates USB-PD across MacBook Air, MacBook Pro 13 to 16 inch, iPad Pro, iPhone 16 and 17 series, and Samsung Galaxy flagships. Lower-wattage devices step down to their native PD profile rather than forcing 100W into a phone.

Form factor: Foldable AC plug and compact body sized for travel and daily carry. Exact dimensions and weight are not specified in the source data, though GaN-class 100W bricks in this segment typically land near 60 to 70 grams.

In the box: Anker 317 Charger 100W, 5ft (1.5m) USB C to USB C cable stored behind the tray, welcome guide, and an 18-month waranty. ActiveShield temperature monitoring is included for over-temperature cutoff.

Common questions

Can a 240W charger damage a 100W laptop?

No. USB-C Power Delivery negotiates the safe wattage between charger and device. A 240W brick will only send what your laptop requests, so it just charges normally.

Do I need a special cable for 240W?

Yes, for full output. True 240W or 140W single-port charging requires an EPR-rated cable marked for 240W. A standard 100W cable caps you at 100W no matter the charger.

Will 240W charge my phone faster than 100W?

Not really. Phones cap their intake well below 100W, so both tiers charge a phone at the same speed. The extra wattage only helps laptops and multi-device loads.

Is a 100W charger enough for a gaming laptop?

It depends on the laptop. Thin gaming machines that pull 100W or less are fine. Anything rated for 140W or more will still slowly drain under heavy load on a 100W charger.

Why do “240W” chargers cap ports at 100W?

Because 240W is usually the total shared budget across all ports, not a single-port rating. Only PD 3.1 models push past 100W on one port, and they still split the rest. So a “240W” block with four ports might give one laptop 100W while the other three share the remaining 140W. Read the per-port breakdown in the spec sheet, not just the big headline number.

Do these chargers get hot?

They warm up under full load, but GaN parts keep it manageable. A 240W station charging a laptop, a phone, and a tablet at once will be warm to the touch, not scorching. The Anker and Lenovo blocks here are compact and foldable, so they shed heat a little faster than the chunky multi-port stations. Give the brick some airflow and don’t bury it under papers on a desk.